Saving the Northern White Rhino

„In vitro fertilization is the single most important step in the conservation of endangered species“

(December 1, 2019)

The Sumatran Rhino and the Northern White Rhino are on the brink of extinction. Only a few days ago the last Sumatran Rhino in Malaysia, Iman, died after severe illness. Thomas Hildebrandt performed one of the last health assessments on Iman and attempted at collecting oocytes for assisted reproduction. He and his colleagues from the Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research want to help the remaining individuals of both Sumatran and Northern White Rhino to have offspring. In an interview with National Geographic Germany, Hildebrandt talks about assisted reproduction techniques for rhinos and disagreements within the IUCN about how to save endangered species. The interview was published on October 25, 2019 – only four weeks before Iman's death.

Mr Hildebrandt, you recently went to Borneo and collected an egg cell from Malaysia's last surviving Sumatran rhino. How is Iman?

She is seriously ill. She has a bladder tumour, strong abnormalities in the uterus and will not live much longer. We were only able to extract one egg from her, which unfortunately degenerated within a few days after fertilization. Hopefully there will be time this winter to try again.

How do you extract an egg from a rhinoceros?

My colleague Frank Göritz is performing the anaesthesia together with local veterinarians. With the northern white rhinoceroses and the Sumatran rhinoceros, you cannot get any further with conventional equipment, because they all have tumours that prevent the eggs from being removed through the vagina. The risk of injuring the animal would be too high. The rhinoceroses have veins as strong as children's arms, so you should never stab them. Instead, you have to find the ovaries through the intestines and suck out the ova. The needle we use for this is a whole meter long.

Can you apply knowledge from human medicine or the livestock sector?

No, only the work in the laboratory is similar. Our work is extremely specialized, particularly when it comes to oocyte collection and embryo transfer back to the animal. We are the only ones in the world who have the expertise to safely carry out an egg collection in wild animals – only we conduct the corresponding basic research.

[…]

Is there international agreement on how to preserve the species?

This summer, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) held a meeting on the future of the Sumatran rhino. It is not only its own species, but also its own genus. A whole genus has not left our planet for a long time. This has prompted the IUCN to act. We sat together with our international colleagues from Malaysia, Indonesia and the USA, but unfortunately the opinions about the protection are very different.

What are the different points of view?

Some say that natural breeding is the way to save these animals. For a long time, the predominant opinion was that the only thing to do was to protect their habitat. This turned out to be fatal because individual animals were kept alive in this way, but no offspring were promoted. The female animals that live alone in this protected habitat all suffer from tumours and uterine cysts because they have no breeding partner and no calves. Iman for example came out of the wild with tumours almost the size of a football, because she had no offspring for at least ten years. Habitat protection must not be the one and only doctrine. In vitro fertilization is the single most important step in the conservation of endangered species.

You and your partners have produced two embryos from the oocytes from the Northern White Rhinos. How are the last two animals of their kind?

They got up after egg collection, ate and took a mud bath. With this demonstration we have cleared many prejudices and concerns out of the way in Kenya. Kenya Wildlife Service has provided us with a helicopter to transport the egg cells to the international airport as quickly as possible. We were able to freeze two excellent blastocysts and hope that this rethinking will continue.

[…]

You can read the complete interview by Andrea Henke for National Geographic Germany (only in German) on the website https://www.nationalgeographic.de/tiere/2019/10/vitro-befruchtungen-sind-der-wichtigste-schritt-zum-erhalt-bedrohter-arten.

Follow our story, spread the word, and consider donating for sustaining the hope for the Northern White Rhino: » Donate Here

.

Rettung des Nördlichen Breitmaulnashorns

„In-vitro-Befruchtungen sind der wichtigste Schritt zum Erhalt bedrohter Arten“

(1. Dezember 2019)

Das Sumatra-Nashorn und das Nördliche Breitmaulnashorn stehen kurz vor dem Aussterben. Erst vor wenigen Tagen starb Iman, das letzte Sumatra-Nashorn Malaysias, nach schwerer Krankheit. Thomas Hildebrandt führte eine der letzten tierärztlichen Untersuchungen an Iman durch und versuchte Eizellen für die assistierte Reproduktion zu gewinnen. Er und seine Kollegen vom Leibniz-Institut für Zoo- und Wildtierforschung wollen dem Sumatra- wie dem Nordlichen Breitmaulnashorn zu Nachwuchs verhelfen. In einem Interview mit National Geographic Deutschland spricht Hildebrandt über Verfahren für die assistierte Reproduktion bei Nashörnern und über Uneinigkeit innerhalb der IUCN über den Weg zur Rettung bedrohter Tierarten. Das Interview ist am 25. Oktober 2019, vier Wochen vor dem Tod Imans, erschienen.

Herr Hildebrandt, Sie waren vor kurzem in Borneo und haben dem letzten noch lebenden Sumatra-Nashorn Malaysias eine Eizelle entnommen. Wie geht es Iman?

Sie ist schwer krank. Sie hat einen Blasentumor, starke Veränderungen im Uterus und wird nicht mehr lange leben. Wir konnten ihr nur eine Eizelle entnehmen, die dann leider innerhalb weniger Tage nach der Befruchtung degeneriert ist. Hoffentlich bleibt in diesem Winter noch Zeit für einen weiteren Versuch.

Wie entnehmen Sie einem Nashorn eine Eizelle?

Mein Kollege Frank Göritz macht zusammen mit lokalen Tierärzten die Narkose. Bei den Nördlichen Breitmaulnashörnern und dem Sumatra-Nashorn kommt man mit herkömmlichen Ausrüstungsgegenständen nicht weiter, weil sie alle Tumore haben, die verhindern, dass man die Eizellen vaginal entnehmen kann. Die Gefahr, dass man das Tier verletzt, wäre zu hoch. Die Nashörner haben Adern so stark wie Kinderarme, da sollte man auf keinen Fall hineinstechen. Man muss stattdessen durch den Darm die Eierstöcke finden und die Eizellen absaugen. Die Nadel, die wir dafür benutzen, ist einen ganzen Meter lang.

Können Sie Wissen aus der Humanmedizin oder dem Nutztierbereich anwenden?

Nein, nur die Arbeit im Labor ähnelt sich. Unser Bereich ist außerordentlich speziell, gerade was die Entnahme von Eizellen und den Transfer zurück ins Tier angeht. Weltweit sind wir die einzigen, die die Expertise haben, so eine Entnahme bei Wildtieren sicher durchzuführen – nur wir machen die entsprechende Grundlagenforschung.

[…]

Besteht international Einigkeit über das Vorgehen zum Arterhalt?

Es gab in diesem Sommer ein Treffen der Weltnaturschutzunion (IUCN) zur Zukunft des Sumatra-Nashorns. Es ist nicht nur eine eigene Art, sondern auch eine eigene Gattung. Eine ganze Gattung ist lange nicht mehr von unserem Planeten gegangen. Das hat die IUCN zum Handeln bewegt. Wir haben mit den internationalen Kollegen aus Malaysia, Indonesien und den USA zusammengesessen, aber leider gehen die Meinungen über den Schutz sehr auseinander.

Wie sind die unterschiedlichen Standpunkte?

Die einen sagen, dass die natürliche Nachzucht der Weg sei, diese Tiere zu retten. Lange Zeit war die vorwiegende Meinung, man müsse nur das Habitat schützen. Das hat sich als fatal herausgestellt, weil so zwar einzelne Tiere am Leben erhalten wurden, aber kein Nachwuchs gefördert wurde. Die weiblichen Tiere, die allein in diesem geschützten Habitat leben, sind alle an Tumoren und Uteruszysten erkrankt, weil sie keinen Zuchtpartner haben und keine Jungen bekommen. Iman kam schon mit fast fußballgroßen Tumoren aus der Wildbahn, weil sie mindestens zehn Jahre keinen Nachwuchs hatte. Der Habitatschutz darf nicht die alleinige Doktrin sein. In-vitro-Befruchtungen sind der wichtigste Schritt zum Erhalt bedrohter Arten.

Sie haben aus Kenia zwei Embryonen vom Nördlichen Breitmaulnashorn erhalten können. Wie geht es den beiden letzten Tieren Ihrer Art?

Sie sind nach der Eizellenentnahme aufgestanden, haben gefressen und sich erstmal ein Schlammbad gegönnt. Mit dieser Demonstration haben wir in Kenia sehr viele Vorurteile und Bedenken aus dem Weg geräumt. Kenya Wildlife Service hat uns einen Hubschrauber zur Verfügung gestellt, um die Eizellen so schnell wie möglich zum internationalen Flughafen zu transportieren. Wir haben zwei hervorragende Blastozysten einfrieren können und hoffen, dass dieses Umdenken weiter geht.

[…]

Das vollständige Interview von Andrea Henke für National Geographic Deutschland können Sie auf der Website https://www.nationalgeographic.de/tiere/2019/10/vitro-befruchtungen-sind-der-wichtigste-schritt-zum-erhalt-bedrohter-arten nachlesen.